I put my head into the sand…

Standard

I did.  I tried to be like the proverbial ostrich.  I tried to hide myself, protect myself and my family from what happened last Friday.  I shut off the news, Twitter, Facebook.  I walked away from people who brought it up in conversations.  I wanted to focus on the joy of the Christmas season and Advent, trying to prepare.  Until I received a letter from my son’s Kindergarten teacher on Monday.

Dear families,

As I sit here trying to process what happened last Friday in Connecticut, I wanted to say THANK YOU to each and every one of you. THANK YOU for my past students, my current students, and my future students. I understand that every family has a choice on where to send their child to school; THANK YOU for choosing our school, and THANK YOU for believing in me and trusting me with your darling children.

I want to let you know that I adore each and every student that has/will step foot in my classroom. They have brought so much joy and laughter into my life. I ensure you that their well-being is my top priority, and I will always do whatever it takes to keep them safe.

Thank you now, and always, for everything you do. God Bless!

With a grateful heart,

Your Child’s Teacher

This letter, and simple and heart-felt, changed me.  I knew that she cared.  But to read the words, that is different. On Friday, when a news report came on while I was having lunch, I got physically ill.  Now, I only get a little choked up.  I still havent had a full conversation with anyone.  My heart breaks for all of the families that lost loved ones.  My heart has become more grateful for my own children.  My heart battles with how the media and individuals are using this tragedy to further their own views  and politicizing it.

I pray for the families. I pray that this may never occur again. I pray that we, as a country, don’t let this divide us. And I pray for peace in this Christmas season.

Wishing all of you a very Blessed Christmas –

Leave a Reply

